The HWINS Governing Body has a legal responsibility for the overall management of the school and performs three key roles:

To provide strategic direction for the school

To hold the Headteacher & the Senior Leadership Team accountable for the educational performance of the children

To oversee the school’s finances

The Governing Body meets twice a term and some of its responsibilities are delegated to the following Committees: Finance; Teaching and Learning; Communities; and Resources (which also all meet twice a term).

The Governing Body consists of a combination of school (staff) governors, community(co-opted) governors, Local Authority governors and parent governors (voted for by the parent/carer community). All of the  governors are volunteers.

Roles and Responsibilities of Committees:

Teaching and Learning – Committee Chairs –  Anna Louise Lawson / Emma Marfleet

The Teaching and Learning committee plays a fundamental role in the direction of the learning and teaching within our school and monitors the outcomes of policies. Its aim is to support the ongoing development of the Curriculum in meeting the needs of all our pupils with regard to their learning, achievement and well being directed by statutory and voluntary policies.

Communities – Committee Chair – A. Makepeace

To review, implement and constantly consider both Pay and Personnel matters relating to the school in accordance with the needs of the School Community/set legal requirements and in line with annual budget parameters.

Resources – Committee Chair – R. Flavelle

This committee provides support and guidance to the Headteacher on all matters relating to the school premises, grounds, security, health and safety.

Finance – Committee Chair – S. Courquin

Providing guidance and assistance to the head teacher and governing body in all matters relating to budgeting and finance, and to clearly define any delegation of financial responsibilities, preparing a 3-year budget, which is based on the priorities of the school development plan

Governor Role Membership Appt Start Appt End Voting FGB Finance Resources Teaching & Learning Communities
Michelle Boyce Headteacher Staff 01.01.19 x x x x x
Adam Makepeace Chair of Governors, Chair – Communities Committee Co-opted 05.12.17 05.12.21 x x x x x
Stephen Courquin Chair – Finance Committee Parent 01/11/2017 01/11/2020 x x x
Anna-Louise Lawson Co-Chair Teaching and Learning Parent 02/10/2018 02/10/2022 x x x
Rob Flavelle Chair of Resources Committee Co-opted 08/12/2015 08/12/2018 x x x
Co-opted x x x
Tony Mattson Co-opted 23/05/17 23/05/21 x x x
Paul Sahota Co-opted 22/06/2017 22/06/2021 x x
Adam Moore Co-opted 01/01/19
Neils Boyadjian Co-opted 01/01/19 x x x
Emma Marfleet Co-Chair Teaching and Learning Parent 22/06/2018 22/06/2022 x x x
Nicola Pollitt Co-Chair Teaching and Learning Co-opted 09/10/2022 09/10/2022 Yes x x x
Hannah Dutton-Waller Clerk to FGB Clerk to Governors No x
Sally Hayes Clerk to Committees Clerk to Governors No x x x x
Jane Tauwhare Teacher Associate staff 04/09/2017 04/09/2021 No x
Suzan Jaffar Head of Newts Associate staff 04/09/2018 01/05/2020 No x
Don Wright School Caretaker Associate Staff No x
Emma Pitt School Finance Officer Associate staff No x

Ofsted Inspectors may request username and password access to the Governors’ Area
by contacting the school office on

0208 977 3971